What is the Civil Services Exam (CSE) ?

UPSC is India’s central agency which conducts exams like Civil Services Exam (CSE) to recruit candidates into top government services like IAS,IPS, IFS etc.

What are the exams conducted by UPSC for selection into civil services?

  1. Civil Services Examination (CSE)
  2. Engineering Services Examination (ESE).
  3. Indian Forestry Services Examination (IFoS).
  4. Central Armed Police Forces Examination (CAPF)
  5. Indian Economic Service and Indian Statistical Service (IES/ISS)
  6. Combined Geo-Scientist and Geologist Examination.
  7. Combined Medical Services (CMS).
  8. Special Class Railway Apprentices Exam (SCRA).
  9. Limited Departmental Competitive Examination for selection of Assistant Commandant. (Executive) in CISF

What is the UPSC Syllabus for Civil Services Exam?

There are 3 stages in the UPSC Civil Services Exam – (1) Preliminary Exam (Objective Test) (2) Main Exam (Written Test) (3) Personality Test (Interview).

  1. Prelims – The Civil Services Preliminary exam comprises two compulsory papers of 200 marks each (General Studies Paper-I and General Studies Paper-II). The questions will be of multiple-choice, objective type. The marks in prelims will not be counted for final ranking, but just for qualification for the main exam.
  2. Mains – The written examination (main) will consist of the nine papers, but only 7 papers will be counted for final merit ranking. For the rest two papers, the candidate should secure minimum marks prescribed by the commission each year.
  3. Interview – The candidate will be interviewed by a Board who will have before them a record of his/her career. He/she will be asked questions on matters of general interest.

What is the UPSC age limit for the IAS Exam?

To attempt the IAS exam, the candidate should have crossed 21 years (by August 1, the year in which he/she attempts the exam).

The upper age limit is 32 for the General Merit category, 35 for the Other Backward Classes (OBC) and 37 for Scheduled Classes (SC) and Scheduled Tribes (ST). Additional relaxations are provided for certain special cases.

What is the educational requirement to attempt the UPSC CSE?

Any graduate can attempt the UPSC Civil Services Examination.

The graduation can be in any stream. It can be a regular degree or distance education.

Interesting Facts about Union Public Service Commission

  • The Commission consists of a maximum of 11 members, including the Chairman.
  • The Union Public Service Commission has been established under Article 315 of the Constitution of India
  • The Commission traces its origin to the first Public Services Commission established in 1926 and the Federal Public Services Commission established in 1935.
  • Union Public Service Commission conducts exams to recruit candidates to both civil services as well as defence services.